Showing posts with label google. Show all posts
Showing posts with label google. Show all posts

Tuesday

TOP REFFERRERS FOR GOOGLE

ACCORDING TO GOOGLE'S WEB MASTER CENTRAL BLOG
GOOGLE HAS got much of our non-Google traffic from other webmaster community blogs and forums, such as the Search Engine Watch blog, Google Blogoscoped, and WebmasterWorld. In December, seomoz.org and the new Searchengineland.com were our biggest non-Google referrers. And social networking sites such as digg.com, reddit,com, del.icio.us, and slashdot.org sent webmaster tools many of our visitors, and a blog by somebody named Matt Cutts sent a lot of referrers our way as well.

Thursday

adsense2

****************

Click thru price

****************



The Click thru price, whilst fundamentally determined by the

advertiser, CAN be influenced by the content of your website:

if you can modify your site so that it includes more content

related to higher value keywords, you are more likely to get

higher value click thru prices.



For example, if you run a site about Bird Watching you may

get ads posted about Bird Watching books. But why not

extend the site to include content about the best binoculars

for bird watchers?



Dedicate a page to this topic and you could find higher

value ads running on that page because binoculars sell for

more than books and businesses advertising binoculars may be

willing to pay more for keywords relating to them.



You could also run some pages about travel and hotels in

exotic locations where rich bird watchers like to take their

holidays.



It's all content relevant to your site but it is likely to

increase your AdSense revenues too.

 

The AdSense revenue equation

Revenue is generated for you when someone clicks on an AdSense

ad on your site. Google charges the advertiser for the click

thru and shares this revenue with you.



The amount you earn from an ad is given by the following equation



Income PER AD=



Click thru price X

Fractional pay out X

Click thru rate X

Page traffic X

Appearance frequency



The CLICK THRU PRICE is the price the advertiser is bidding to

place an ad under the AdWords program and is determined by a

complex real time automatic auction process: Google advertisers

set a maximum price they are prepared to bid for keywords

and they usually pay less than this.



The FRACTIONAL PAYOUT RATE is the percentage of its revenues

that Google pays out to AdSense partners. THIS FIGURE IS NOT

DISCLOSED BY Google.

CLICK THRU RATE is the number of times the ad is clicked on

divided by the number of times it is displayed ("impressions").



PAGE TRAFFIC is the number of times people visit your web page.



APPEARANCE FREQUENCY is the number of times a particular ad

appears on your page (remember that ads are rotated by Google

automatically and successful ads are shown more often.)



To repeat: this is income PER advertisement, so to calculate

your total AdSense income you need to evaluate this equation

for each ad on all your web pages and add up the results.



By the way, Google saves you the bother and tells you the

answer.



But already the complexity of the process is apparent and of

these factors, some are completely out of your control:

Fractional payout rate and Appearance frequency being two.



So let's look at those three factors that are at least

partially within your control.

*********to be continued
 

google greed rank

Do you know?GOOGLE GREED RANK!!!!
ACCORDING TO http://www.xedant.com/,
Google profits NOT from its advertisers, but from its users!

Greed: An excessive desire to acquire or possess more than what one needs or deserves, especially with respect to material wealth: “Many . . . attach to competition the stigma of selfish greed” (Henry Fawcett).



The Unethical Truth: Google earns at least $21.90/year on your searches even if you DON'T click on its ads.



Let's start with the 2 well-known facts:

1. Google earns from $0.05 to $69.00 every time you click on any of its ads. Google earns nothing if you don't click on them.

2. Any Google AdWords ad must have at least 0.5% Click Through Rate or Google will disable it until you raise its minimum Cost Per Click.



Let's say you use Google 30 times a day and you DON'T click on its ads. Are you sure Google get NOTHING from you according to the fact #1?



False!



Let's do the math: you use Google 30 times per day. In today's crowded market each search phrase you enter will show you up to 8 ads. It means that your searches will lead to 30*8=240 ad impressions.



You don't click on Google ads, therefore Google will recalculate an actual CTR (Click Through Rate) for all advertisers whose ads you have triggered. If CTR is lower than 0.5%, Google will ask advertisers to increase their maximum Cost Per Click (or pay more for the same number of clicks in other words).



Let's calculate "Google GreedRank":



0.5% CTR with $0.05 CPC means that Google wish to earn at least $0.05/200=$0,00025 per each ad impression, or $0.00025*8=$0.002 per each search.



It means that Google earns at least $21.90/year on your 30 searches per day even if you DON'T CLICK ON ITS ADS!